Skip to content

houses are overwhelming

16 September 07

i don’t want to be one of those people that spends all their weekends working on their house.

i also don’t want to be one of those people that spends exhorbitant amounts of money for their shelter.

but, as told by someone who probably knows yesterday, “you’re either going to spend a lot of money, or you’re going to spend a lot of time.”

neither of these seem like viable options to me.

where’s my third option?  eh?  the one that won’t stress me out?  if you know where it escaped to, let me know.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 17 September 07 1:29 am

    third option: live in a condo.

  2. Meghan permalink
    17 September 07 1:42 pm

    I can help! I’m relatively handy, and at the very least I’m a good scrubber.

  3. carrie permalink
    20 September 07 5:24 pm

    i don’t know that there is another option… but if you find it, PLEASE TELL ME!!!

  4. 23 September 07 6:02 am

    don’t buy a house. seriously. if you can help it. (but maybe I’m just bitter . . . I desperately want to sell my house, but it’s “worth” less than what I paid for it now, and to break even, I would have to sell without a realtor, whine, whine, whine . . . )

    but if you must . . . a friend of mine bought a condo recently near 44th and Kalamazoo (seems like it would be noisy, but it’s off the street, so it’s not) for something like $40K. I’m usually scared of condos because they don’t appreciate very well, but these are so low-priced that I can’t imagine they could go anywhere but up. oh, and there are still two of them available. they need some serious painting and such to get them back to “usable”, but having seen my friend’s after she fixed it up, believe you me, I’m ready to pack up and move there!!!

Leave a Reply

